2019-20 Faculty Award Winners

May 21, 2020

May 21, 2020

Dear Campus Community,

I am thrilled to announce the 2019-20 faculty award winners.

Dr. Mary Ellen Wilkosz is the recipient of the 2019-20 Excellence in Teaching Award. Mary Ellen is praised by students and colleagues alike for her commitment to student learning, hands-on practice, and her talent for clearly presenting complex ideas. An exemplary teacher and leader, Mary Ellen has helped elevate the Nursing program to national recognition. She is a true advocate for student success in the classroom and without. Her support for students is present in everything she does at SSU and in the community.  

Dr. Matthew Clark is the recipient of the 2019-20 Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity Award. Matt is a prolific researcher who has won more than $1.2M in grants funded by the Department of the Interior, the National Science Foundation, and NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration). Currently, he is leading the NASA-funded Soundscapes to Landscapes: Monitoring Animal Biodiversity from Space Using Citizen Scientists project. He also is partnering with CALFIRE’s Sonoma-Lake-Napa Unit on GIS Mapping CALFIRE LNU to create pre-fire attack maps.

Our 2019-20 award winners will be recognized at our next university-wide award ceremony.

For now, please join me in congratulating Professors Wilkosz and Clark for their extraordinary contributions and accomplishments!


Lisa Signature.png

Lisa Vollendorf, Provost